The Joint Master in Computer Science offers an extensive choice of over 60 teaching units (courses and seminars), which are grouped into 7 tracks reflecting different profiles in computer science.

A student chooses 12 courses/seminars

  • a minimum of 8 courses out of around 40 courses
  • a minimum of 2 seminars out of seminars offered by 15 research groups

In order to ensure sufficient diversification in their program of study, a student must attend teaching units from at least 3 different tracks. In a small number of cases, a teaching unit can belong to more than one track. In such cases, the student can decide to which track the unit belongs, in the context of their personal program of study.

About the tracks

The following tracks are available:

  • T0 – General
    A collection of teaching units from a variety of subject areas, which supplement the teaching units, offered in the other 6 tracks.
  • T1 – Distributed Software Systems
    The track on Distributed Software Systems focuses on the specification, design, implementation, test, maintenance and evolution of modern software systems, which are often deployed and operated in distributed and networked application environments such as client/server architectures, cloud and edge computing, cyber-physical systems, peer-to-peer systems, or high-performance computing clusters.
  • T2 – Security
    Computer security, network security, intrusion prevention, authentication, operating-system security, cryptography, public-key cryptography, cryptographic protocols, zero-knowledge proofs, block-chains
  • T3 – Visual Computing
    Computer vision, pattern recognition, 3D geometry processing, image analysis and processing, human-computer interaction, computer graphics and games
  • T4 – Theory and Logic
    Classical and non-classical logics, proof theory, lambda calculus and type systems, computability and complexity, automata, verification and model checking, formal methods, knowledge representation, graph theory, data privacy, cryptography
  • T5 – Information Systems and Decision Support
    eBusiness, eGovernment, information management, databases management systems and data warehousing, fuzzy classification, decision support, quantitative models and methods of operations research
  • T6 – Data Science
    Big data, data analysis, cloud computing, large-scale distributed systems, machine learning, statistics, artificial intelligence, pattern recognition, social media analytics

Information: there were other tracks up to and including the academic year 2022/23. There is a transition period, where all students who started earlier their studies (i.e., before the academic year 2023/24) can choose to specialize in one of the old or one of the new tracks. The document Track Assignment Transitions (2023/24) gives an indication of how teaching units are assigned to old and to new tracks.

Related information