Annual Alumni Awards 2016

31. Jan 2017

The JAACS is the Alumni Association of the three Computer Science Institutes INF, IIUN and DIUF of the Universities of Bern, Neuchâtel, and Fribourg. More information about the association and how to register can be found at The annual fee is CHF 50. Former members of the INF who join JAACS automatically become members of the Alumni UniBE and benefit from several additional offers and activities.

The JAACS annually awards a prize for the best Bachelor, Master, and Doctoral thesis at the INF, IIUN and DIUF that was defended during the academic year. In 2016, the winners will receive a prize of CHF 128. They are selected by the respective institutes and are presented the award at the institute’s end-of-year event.

Prize Winners

Please note that the joint alumni association will award prizes at the three institutes starting in 2014. Before 2014, the alumni organisation only existed in Bern and therefore prizes were only awarded to Bern students.

  • PhD DIUF for "Entity-Centric Knowledge Discovery for Idiosyncratic Domains", by Roman Prokofyev
  • PhD INF for "Uncertain Reasoning in Justification Logic", by Ioannis Kokkinis
  • Master DIUF for "Dynamic Tailored Intervention System", by Fabio Sodani
  • Master INF for "Improving live debugging of concurrent threads", by Max Leske
  • Bachelor DIUF for "Interactive dance visualisation – a collaboration between art and technology", by Valentine Bernasconi
  • Bachler INF for "Universal Large Scale Sensor Network", by Jakob Schaerer and Severin Zumbrunn